Skip to content
PeptideAI
In vitro onlyblood sugarlongevitygut health

Pancragen

Pancreas-directed tetrapeptide used in short courses for glycaemic support, with the most specific preclinical story of the Cytogen series - it is reported to raise insulin and glucose-transporter gene expression in pancreatic cells.

Also known as Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp, KEDW, pancreas Cytogen, Pankragen, Pancragen

In vitro onlyCell or tissue studies. A mechanism, not yet an effect in a living body.

Pancreatic cell-culture and molecular-docking work from Khavinson's institute reports increased insulin and glucose-transporter gene expression. There is no in vivo glycaemic data in humans and no independent replication. Do not treat this as a diabetes therapy.

How it works

Pancragen is Lys-Glu-Asp-Trp, and the tryptophan makes it the bulkiest and most lipophilic of the common Cytogens. Khavinson's group has published cell-culture work reporting increased transcription of insulin, glucose transporter and pancreatic transcription-factor genes after KEDW exposure, along with restored secretory granule formation in aged pancreatic cultures. Molecular docking work from the same group models the peptide sitting in the DNA major groove at specific promoter sequences. Nothing in this package has been tested against a glucose tolerance test in a human being, and the compound has no demonstrated glucose-lowering effect in vivo.

Targets: Pancreatic beta cells, Insulin gene expression, Glucose transporter expression, NKX2.5

Dosing

ProtocolDoseFrequencyRoute
Oral capsule courseBefore breakfast.1 mg – 2 mgonce daily for 20 to 30 daysoral
Research-market injectable courseAny time of day.1 mg – 2 mgonce daily for 10 to 20 dayssubcutaneous
  • · Capsules are the primary commercial format.
  • · Standard vial-market protocol from a 20 mg vial.

Cycling

A month of capsules or ten to twenty days injectable, two to three courses per year with clear breaks.

Work out your exact syringe units →

Pharmacology

Half-life
Not measured; a free tetrapeptide clears from plasma within minutes.
Onset
Nothing acute. This does not lower blood glucose in the way a drug does.
Routes
oral, subcutaneous
Molecule
Synthetic tetrapeptide
Sequence length
4 amino acids
Molecular weight
576.6 Da

Handling

Diluent
Bacteriostatic water
Typical mix
2 or 3 mL
Vial sizes
20 mg
Lyophilised
Room temperature short term; fridge or freezer long term.
Reconstituted
Refrigerated, use within about 30 days.
Light sensitive
Yes — keep it out of the light

Mixing

20 mg in 2 mL gives 10 mg/mL; 1 mg is 10 units on a U-100 syringe.

Side effects

  • commonInjection-site irritationTransient.
  • commonNo consistent systemic side effects reportedThin exposure data.

Do not use if

  • Type 1 diabetes - do not reduce or replace insulin on the basis of this compound. That is the way someone gets hurt with Pancragen.
  • Pregnancy and breastfeeding - no data.
  • Pancreatic malignancy.

Combining it

  • redundantsuprefortSuprefort is the pancreas Cytomax extract; same claimed target.
  • cautionsemaglutideNo documented pharmacological interaction, but stacking makes it impossible to attribute any glycaemic change - and the GLP-1 is the one actually working.
  • cautioninsulinNo evidence Pancragen alters insulin requirements, but if you inject insulin, monitor glucose properly during any new protocol.

What to monitor

  • · Fasting glucose and HbA1c before and about three months after a course - this is the one bioregulator where a cheap objective test actually maps onto the claim.
  • · Continuous glucose monitoring if you already use one.

Legal status

Not approved for human use in the US, UK or EU; sold as a research chemical or as a supplement capsule in Russia and Eastern Europe.

References

  • Khavinson et al., KEDW peptide regulation of insulin and glucose transporter gene expression in pancreatic cell culture (preclinical)
  • Khavinson, Linkova & Tarnovskaya, short peptides regulate gene expression (preclinical)

Mechanism in depth

Pancragen has the most specific molecular story in the Cytogen series and, unusually, a small human study behind it. Khavinson's group cultured pancreatic cells from young and aged donors and reported that KEDW increased expression of the transcription factors that define pancreatic cell identity: Pdx1 and Ptf1a in acinar cells, and Pdx1, Pax6, Pax4, Foxa2 and Nkx2.2 in islet cells. That list matters, because those are the genuine master regulators of beta-cell differentiation and function - Pdx1 in particular is the gene whose loss drives beta-cell dedifferentiation in type 2 diabetes. A peptide that pushed Pdx1 expression back up in an aged islet would be doing something mechanistically interesting rather than merely marketed. Note that the Core record lists NKX2.5, a cardiac transcription factor; the published pancreatic work reports Nkx2.2, which is the pancreatic one. The human study is Korkushko's, from the Kiev Institute of Gerontology: 63 older people, 30 healthy and 33 with type 2 diabetes. Nocturnal melatonin was 70 percent lower in the diabetic group. In the diabetic patients, pancragen significantly reduced fasting glucose, improved the glucose tolerance test, and lowered plasma insulin and the insulin resistance index, while the untreated comparison group showed no change. That is a real human glycaemic dataset, and it means the Core record's statement that no in vivo human glycaemic data exists is out of date - which is worth correcting rather than glossing. It is also small, from the originating research programme, with no stated randomisation or blinding and no dose or duration in the abstract, and it has never been replicated. It is enough to say the compound is worth a proper trial. It is nowhere near enough to treat it as a diabetes therapy.

What usually goes wrong

The lethal failure mode in this class is a type 1 diabetic reducing insulin because a bioregulator is supposed to restore islet function. Type 1 beta cells are gone, not silenced, and no amount of Pdx1 upregulation in a dish changes that. The second failure is over-reading the human study. Sixty-three people, no described randomisation or blinding, no dose or duration in the abstract, from the same programme that makes the product - that is a signal worth following up, not a result to dose on. Third, the tryptophan makes this genuinely photolabile: a vial left on a windowsill degrades in a way that a Trp-free peptide does not, and the degradation products are unknown. Keep it dark, and be suspicious of any reconstituted solution that yellows. Fourth, form ambiguity: the studied compound is the amide and vendors rarely say which they are selling.

Bloodwork worth running

MarkerWhenWhy it matters
Fasting glucose and fasting insulin, with HOMA-IR calculated from themBaseline before the course, then four to six weeks after it ends. Both samples fasted twelve hours, ideally at the same time of morning.This is exactly what the human study measured, so it is the one place in this entire class where the test and the published endpoint line up. HOMA-IR from a paired fasting glucose and insulin costs very little and is far more informative than glucose alone.Act if: The published effect was in elderly type 2 diabetics with a 70 percent melatonin deficit. If your fasting insulin is already under about 6 mIU/L and HOMA-IR under 1.5, there is no insulin resistance to correct. If fasting glucose is above 7.0 mmol/L or 126 mg/dL on two occasions, that is diabetes and needs proper management.
HbA1cBaseline and three months after the course. Testing it at six weeks is pointless - the assay reflects red cell lifespan.The integrated three-month readout. It is the number that cannot be gamed by a good week and the one a clinician will act on.Act if: No published HbA1c effect exists for this compound; the human study reported fasting and OGTT measures instead. An HbA1c above 6.5 percent means diabetes and means metformin, GLP-1 agonism or insulin, not a tetrapeptide.
Continuous glucose monitor, two-week wearTwo weeks before the course and two weeks starting a month after it ends, with diet held as constant as you can manage.If you already have a CGM, it will tell you more in a fortnight than any panel will, and it is honest in a way that a single fasting draw is not. Time in range and post-meal excursions are the numbers.Act if: If nothing moves in time-in-range across two matched fortnights with stable diet, the compound did nothing for you. That is a clean result and a good reason to stop.
Overnight urinary 6-sulphatoxymelatoninOnce at baseline.The human study's actual thesis was that pineal melatonin deficiency drives insulin resistance in the elderly, and the diabetic group had a 70 percent deficit. If you want to know whether you are in the population the study recruited, this is the test that tells you.Act if: A normal nocturnal melatonin output means you are not in the phenotype the study treated, and the rationale for expecting benefit is much weaker.

Pharmacokinetics

Metabolism
Aminopeptidase cleavage to lysine, glutamate, aspartate and tryptophan. The tryptophan is the reason this peptide is genuinely light-sensitive - indole side chains photodegrade - so the storage advice in the Core record is chemistry rather than caution theatre.
Elimination
Renal filtration of fragments.

Receptor targets

  • Pdx1 (pancreatic and duodenal homeobox 1)No binding data; a transcription-level effect

    Increased expression in both acinar and islet pancreatic cultures, young and aged. Pdx1 is the master beta-cell identity gene, so this is the most mechanistically meaningful marker in the file.

  • Pax6, Pax4, Foxa2, Nkx2.2

    Increased expression in islet-of-Langerhans cell cultures, interpreted as restoration of endocrine differentiation in ageing pancreas.

  • Ptf1a

    Increased expression in acinar cells - the exocrine arm of the differentiation claim.

  • Insulin resistance index in elderly type 2 diabetic patients

    Reduced, alongside falls in fasting glucose, glucose tolerance test values and plasma insulin, in a 63-person study from the Kiev Institute of Gerontology.

  • No identified receptorNone published

    No receptor. The proposed route remains nuclear entry and direct chromatin interaction.

Trials

  • Korkushko pancragen metabolic study, Institute of Gerontology, Kiev Small controlled clinical study; randomisation and blinding not described in the abstract · n=63 · 2011

    Carbohydrate metabolism in older people - 30 healthy and 33 with type 2 diabetes. Nocturnal melatonin was 70 percent lower in the diabetic group. In diabetic patients pancragen significantly lowered fasting glucose, improved the standard glucose tolerance test, and reduced plasma insulin and the insulin resistance index; patients receiving no pancragen showed no change. Dose and duration are not stated in the published abstract.

What to expect, and when

Nothing acute - this does not lower blood glucose the way a drug does, and if it did you would be describing an entirely different and more dangerous compound. Days one to twenty: no perceptible effect. Four to six weeks after the course: the window in which fasting insulin and HOMA-IR would move if they were going to, matching the design of the human study. Three months: the earliest point at which HbA1c can say anything. Beyond that: nothing established. Anyone reporting that they feel their blood sugar improving is feeling something else.

Stacking and comparisons

Pancragen plus Suprefort is duplication - synthetic and extract for the same claim. The interesting stack, given that the human study's whole thesis was melatonin deficiency driving insulin resistance, is Pancragen with Epithalamin or Epitalon: that pairing follows the published reasoning rather than vendor convention, and it is the one combination in this class with an argument behind it. It has still never been tested. With semaglutide or tirzepatide, the honest note is attribution: a GLP-1 will move fasting glucose, HbA1c and weight by margins a tetrapeptide cannot approach, so anything that improves during a combined run belongs to the GLP-1. With metformin the same applies. With insulin, the rule is absolute: never reduce a dose because you started a peptide course. If Pancragen genuinely improved insulin sensitivity you would find out through hypoglycaemia, which is the wrong way to learn it - keep testing and adjust on numbers, not on theory.

Against metformin: metformin has decades of outcome data, costs almost nothing, and reduces cardiovascular events. Pancragen has one 63-person study. Against a GLP-1 agonist: semaglutide and tirzepatide have phase-3 programmes with tens of thousands of participants, HbA1c reductions of 1.5-2.5 percentage points and cardiovascular outcome trials. The gap between that evidence base and this one is not a matter of degree, it is a matter of kind, and any writing that puts them in the same sentence as equivalents is misleading. Against the rest of the Cytogen series: Pancragen is the strongest of them. It has named transcription-factor targets that make biological sense, and it is the only one with a human metabolic endpoint. Against Suprefort: the synthetic has the data; the extract has the naming.

Rough cost

$40–$130/month. One 20 mg vial per injectable course, or a month of capsules. Slightly above the class average because tryptophan-containing peptides cost more to synthesise and store. Indicative pricing, not verified against vendor listings in this session.

Genuinely uncertain

  • No pharmacokinetic data of any kind by any route.
  • The Korkushko human study does not state dose, duration, randomisation method or blinding in its abstract, and I could not retrieve the full text to check.
  • It has never been replicated by any group outside the originating programme.
  • The Core record lists NKX2.5 among the targets; the published pancreatic differentiation paper reports Nkx2.2. NKX2.5 is a cardiac transcription factor and appears to be a transcription error propagated through secondary sources.
  • It is usually not stated whether research-market vials contain the studied C-terminal amide or the free acid, and the two are different molecules.
  • No HbA1c endpoint has been published for this compound.
  • Oral absorption of the intact tetrapeptide has never been demonstrated.
  • Cost figures are indicative estimates and were not verified against live vendor listings in this session.

Papers