Pentosan Polysulfate Sodium
A heparin-like sulfated sugar polymer, approved orally for interstitial cystitis and used by injection in veterinary and Australian practice as a disease-modifying osteoarthritis drug.
Also known as PPS, iPPS, Sodium pentosan polysulfate, Elmiron, Cartrophen Vet, Zycosan, Zilosul, PPS-SC
Approved drug — Licensed by a major regulator for human use, with phase-3 trial data behind it.
FDA-approved orally as Elmiron for interstitial cystitis, though the effect size in that indication is modest and the maculopathy signal is well established. The injectable osteoarthritis use is supported by veterinary approvals and several small-to-mid-size human trials, mainly from Australia, and is still investigational for humans.
How it works
Pentosan polysulfate is derived from beech wood xylan and sulfated to resemble heparan sulfate, with an average molecular weight in the range of four to six kilodaltons. In the bladder it is thought to replenish the deficient glycosaminoglycan layer that normally shields the urothelium from urine. In joints, injectable PPS inhibits matrix metalloproteinases, aggrecanases and complement activation, stimulates hyaluronan synthesis by synoviocytes, and has a fibrinolytic action that improves subchondral bone perfusion - which is why it is being studied for bone marrow oedema lesions. It also has mild heparin-like anticoagulant activity, and that is the practical dose-limiting feature. It is included in a peptide encyclopedia because it sits in every joint-repair stack discussion, not because it is a peptide.
Targets: Glycosaminoglycan layer of the urothelium, Matrix metalloproteinases and aggrecanases, Hyaluronan synthesis in synoviocytes, Fibrinolytic / subchondral perfusion pathways
Dosing
| Protocol | Dose | Frequency | Route |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oral protocol for interstitial cystitis (approved use)One hour before or two hours after meals. | 100 mg | three times daily | oral |
| Injectable joint protocol (trial and veterinary derived)A fixed day each week. | 140 mg – 210 mg | once or twice weekly for 4-6 weeks | subcutaneous |
- · 100 mg three times daily is the Elmiron label dose - 300 mg per day. Response is slow and the long-term retinal risk below is the reason many people now avoid multi-year courses.
- · Doses here are per kilogram of body weight - 2 to 3 mg/kg - and the figures shown are the equivalent for a 70 kg adult, so 140-210 mg per injection. Recalculate from your own body weight rather than using the absolute number. Human knee osteoarthritis trials have used 2 mg/kg subcutaneously twice weekly for six weeks; a 3 mg/kg weekly intramuscular regimen is often quoted but is not corroborated in the human trial record. This route is not approved for humans in the US.
Cycling
Injectable courses are deliberately short - four to six weekly injections, then a gap of at least three to six months before repeating. Oral use for interstitial cystitis is long-term but should be reviewed annually against the retinal risk.
Pharmacology
- Half-life
- Roughly five hours in plasma after oral dosing, but oral bioavailability is only a few percent and the compound distributes into connective tissue where it persists far longer.
- Onset
- Bladder symptoms in interstitial cystitis typically need three to six months of oral dosing. Injectable joint courses are usually judged four to eight weeks after the last injection.
- Routes
- oral, subcutaneous, intramuscular
- Molecule
- Semi-synthetic sulfated xylan polysaccharide - not a peptide
Handling
- Diluent
- Not applicable - supplied as oral capsules or as a ready-made injectable solution
- Lyophilised
- Not applicable; capsules are stored at room temperature away from moisture.
- Reconstituted
- Injectable solution is stored per its label, generally at room temperature and protected from light.
- Light sensitive
- Yes — keep it out of the light
Mixing
Injectable PPS is not a lyophilised research vial; it comes as a solution, typically 100 mg/mL in veterinary and Australian human presentations.
Side effects
- commonNausea, diarrhoea and abdominal pain— The main reason people stop oral therapy.
- commonInjection-site reaction
- uncommonPigmentary maculopathy with long-term oral use— The most important known harm. Cumulative-dose-dependent retinal damage causing difficulty reading and adapting to dim light; it can progress even after the drug is stopped. Anyone on long-term Elmiron needs regular retinal imaging.
- uncommonBleeding, bruising or prolonged clotting time— Direct consequence of the heparin-like structure; more relevant with the injectable route.
- uncommonReversible hair loss— Documented on the Elmiron label.
Do not use if
- Any bleeding disorder, thrombocytopenia or active haemorrhage - this compound has real anticoagulant activity.
- Concurrent warfarin, DOACs, heparin or high-dose NSAIDs without medical supervision.
- Surgery or dental extraction within the following week - stop injections beforehand.
- Existing retinal or macular disease, for the oral long-term route.
Combining it
- conflictAnticoagulants and antiplatelet drugs — Additive bleeding risk; this is the single most important interaction.
- cautionNSAIDs — Compounded gastrointestinal bleeding risk.
- synergybpc-157 — Commonly stacked for joint work, with no interaction data either way.
What to monitor
- · Annual dilated retinal examination with OCT for anyone on long-term oral PPS - this is now a standard-of-care recommendation, not an optional extra.
- · Full blood count and coagulation screen before and during injectable courses.
- · Watch for unusual bruising or gum bleeding.
Legal status
Elmiron is an approved prescription drug in the US and EU for interstitial cystitis. Injectable pentosan is approved for horses and dogs in several countries and remains investigational for human osteoarthritis; Australian patients access it via the Special Access Scheme.
References
- Elmiron (pentosan polysulfate sodium) US prescribing information (label)
- Kumagai et al., sodium pentosan polysulfate and cartilage improvement in knee osteoarthritis, open clinical trial (trial)
- Pearce et al., pigmentary maculopathy associated with chronic exposure to pentosan polysulfate sodium, Ophthalmology (trial)
Mechanism in depth
PPS is a glycosaminoglycan mimetic, and almost everything it does follows from looking enough like heparan sulfate to bind where heparan sulfate binds. That is a broad, promiscuous mechanism, which is why it has effects in three unrelated organs and why none of them are clean. In the bladder, the model is that interstitial cystitis involves a defective glycosaminoglycan layer over the urothelium, letting urinary solutes reach nerve endings. Orally dosed PPS is excreted into urine and is thought to replenish that layer from the luminal side. The effect size in trials is modest and the model itself is not universally accepted. In joints, injectable PPS does several things at once. It inhibits matrix metalloproteinases and aggrecanases, which are the enzymes degrading cartilage. It stimulates hyaluronan synthesis by synoviocytes, improving joint lubrication and the viscoelastic properties of synovial fluid. It inhibits complement activation, reducing one inflammatory input. And it has fibrinolytic activity that improves subchondral bone perfusion, which is why interest has focused on bone marrow oedema lesions - those are a perfusion and pressure problem, and PPS is one of very few agents with a plausible mechanism for them. The anticoagulant activity is not a side effect in the incidental sense; it is the same sulfated structure doing the same thing it does therapeutically. You cannot separate them, and that is why bleeding is the dose-limiting feature of the injectable route. The maculopathy is the other thing that has to be understood mechanistically rather than as a footnote. It is cumulative-dose-dependent, it involves the retinal pigment epithelium, it can present after years of exposure, and it can progress after the drug is stopped. That last point is what makes it different from most drug toxicities - stopping does not reliably halt it. Anyone on multi-year oral PPS needs annual dilated retinal examination with OCT, and that is now standard of care rather than a suggestion.
What usually goes wrong
The retina is what goes wrong, and the reason it goes wrong is that people take this drug for years. Interstitial cystitis responds slowly - three to six months of oral dosing before you know - which creates a natural drift into indefinite use. The maculopathy is cumulative-dose-dependent, presents as difficulty reading and poor dark adaptation, and can progress after stopping. That combination means the drug that seems most benign because you have taken it for a decade is the one doing the damage. The second failure is dose arithmetic on the injectable route. The joint dosing is per kilogram - 2 to 3 mg/kg - and the absolute figures quoted in protocols are usually calculated for a 70 kg adult. A 100 kg person copying a number rather than a formula underdoses by a third; a 55 kg person overdoses. Recalculate from your own weight. The third is bleeding in people who did not know they were taking an anticoagulant. PPS is filed mentally as a bladder drug or a joint supplement, and the heparin-like structure gets forgotten until someone bruises across their whole thigh. The fourth is the veterinary extrapolation. Injectable PPS is properly approved for horses and dogs and is used in Australian human practice under special access. That is a much weaker footing than an approval, and the human osteoarthritis evidence is still being generated - the MaRVeL trial is a protocol, not a result. The fifth is the 3 mg/kg weekly intramuscular regimen that circulates in forums. The human trial record supports 2 mg/kg subcutaneously twice weekly for six weeks; the weekly intramuscular figure is quoted widely and corroborated poorly.
Bloodwork worth running
| Marker | When | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Dilated retinal examination with OCT (not bloodwork, but the single most important monitoring) | Baseline before starting long-term oral therapy, then annually. Sooner if reading becomes harder or dark adaptation worsens. | Pigmentary maculopathy is the defining harm of this drug. It is cumulative-dose-dependent, it can appear after years, and it can progress even after stopping - which means catching it early is the only meaningful intervention.Act if: Any RPE change on OCT means stop the drug and have the discussion about whether the bladder benefit was ever worth it. |
| Full blood count including platelets | Baseline and before each injectable course; periodically during long oral therapy. | You are taking a heparin analogue. Thrombocytopenia and anaemia from occult bleeding are the things to catch, and this matters far more on the injectable route than the oral one.Act if: A falling platelet count or an unexplained haemoglobin drop means stop immediately. |
| Coagulation screen (PT/INR and aPTT) | Baseline before an injectable course and if any unusual bruising or gum bleeding develops. | The anticoagulant effect is real and is the dose-limiting feature of injectable PPS. Baseline matters most in anyone already on an antiplatelet or NSAID.Act if: Prolongation beyond the reference range, or any clinically significant bleeding, ends the course. Also stop injections at least a week before any surgery or dental extraction. |
| Liver function tests | Baseline and periodically during long oral therapy. | Transaminase elevation is a recognised, if uncommon, effect on the oral label.Act if: Persistent elevation warrants stopping. |
Pharmacokinetics
- Tmax
- 2 h
- Bioavailability
- 3%
- Crosses blood-brain barrier
- no
- Accumulates
- Yes — doses stack before steady state
- Metabolism
- Partially desulfated in liver and spleen and depolymerised in the kidney. The sulfation pattern is what carries the activity, so desulfation is inactivation.
- Elimination
- Predominantly renal for the absorbed fraction; the large unabsorbed oral fraction passes in faeces.
Receptor targets
- Urothelial glycosaminoglycan layer — Not a receptor interaction - physical replenishment of a protective mucosal layer
Restores the barrier between urine and urothelium. The basis of the approved interstitial cystitis indication, with a modest effect size.
- Matrix metalloproteinases and aggrecanases (ADAMTS) — Inhibition; constants not stated here
Reduced enzymatic degradation of cartilage matrix - the disease-modifying claim in osteoarthritis.
- Synoviocyte hyaluronan synthesis — Stimulation
Improved synovial fluid viscosity and lubrication.
- Complement cascade — Inhibition, as with other sulfated polysaccharides
Reduced complement-driven inflammation in the joint.
- Coagulation cascade (heparin-like activity) — Anticoagulant activity roughly one-fifteenth that of heparin by weight, though figures vary by assay
Fibrinolysis and improved subchondral perfusion therapeutically; bruising and bleeding as the dose-limiting toxicity. Same mechanism, both directions.
- Retinal pigment epithelium — Mechanism of injury not established
Cumulative-dose-dependent pigmentary maculopathy. The most important known harm and the reason long oral courses are now approached differently than they were before 2018.
Trials
- Pigmentary maculopathy associated with chronic exposure to pentosan polysulfate sodium Observational case series · 2018
The 2018 case series that identified a distinct pigmentary maculopathy in patients with long-term PPS exposure. It changed prescribing practice for this drug more than any efficacy trial ever did, and it is the reason annual retinal imaging became standard.
- MaRVeL: pentosan polysulfate sodium in symptomatic knee osteoarthritis with dyslipidaemia Phase 2 · n=92 · 16 weeks · 2024
A single-centre parallel superiority trial of oral PPS in 92 participants aged 40 and over with painful knee osteoarthritis and mild to moderate radiographic change, given as two five-week cycles at baseline and week 11. Primary endpoint is the 16-week change in overall average knee pain on an 11-point numeric rating scale. The protocol is published; this entry does not report a result.
- Effects of pentosan polysulfate sodium on synovial fluid biomarkers in moderate to severe knee osteoarthritis Clinical study · 2026
Examined the effect of PPS on synovial fluid biomarkers in knee osteoarthritis - the mechanistic counterpart to the symptom trials, testing whether the matrix-protective mechanism shows up in the joint itself.
What to expect, and when
Oral for interstitial cystitis, months 1-3: usually nothing. This is the slowest-onset drug in this class and the label reflects it. Oral, months 3-6: the honest assessment point. If bladder symptoms have not moved by six months, they are not going to, and continuing accumulates retinal risk for no benefit. Injectable for joints, weeks 1-6: the course itself. Most people notice little during it. Injectable, weeks 4-8 after the last injection: this is where the effect is judged, and it is a genuinely unusual delay - the benefit is described as continuing to develop after dosing stops, which fits a drug that loads into connective tissue. Months 3-6 after a course: the point at which repeating is considered. Courses are deliberately spaced this far apart.
Stacking and comparisons
The stacking conversation for PPS is almost entirely about bleeding, and it is the most consequential interaction section in this class. With anticoagulants - warfarin, apixaban, rivaroxaban, heparin - this is a genuine conflict rather than a caution. Additive anticoagulation from a drug most prescribers do not think of as an anticoagulant is exactly how people end up with a bleed nobody predicted. With antiplatelets, including aspirin and clopidogrel, same direction. With NSAIDs the risk is specifically gastrointestinal, because you are combining an anticoagulant with a drug that erodes gastric mucosa. With fish oil at high doses and with any of the supplement-tier antiplatelets, the effect is smaller but real and rarely accounted for. With BPC-157 the peptide community stacks these for joint work freely. There is no interaction data in either direction and no reason to expect a problem, but also no reason to expect synergy beyond the fact that they act on different parts of the joint. And the practical one: stop injectable PPS at least a week before any surgery or dental extraction. This is the interaction that actually causes harm, and it causes it in a dentist's chair.
Against everything else in this class: PPS is the only compound here with a genuine FDA approval, and it is also the only one with a documented, serious, cumulative organ toxicity. That combination is instructive - approval means the harms have actually been characterised, not that they are absent. Against intra-articular hyaluronic acid for knee osteoarthritis: HA is delivered directly to the joint with a local risk profile; PPS is systemic with a bleeding risk. HA has more trials and unimpressive meta-analytic effect sizes. Neither is a strong option. Against glucosamine and chondroitin: chondroitin is itself a sulfated glycosaminoglycan, so the conceptual lineage is similar, but oral chondroitin has negligible anticoagulant activity and a much weaker mechanistic case. PPS at least has enzyme inhibition and hyaluronan stimulation data behind it. Against BPC-157 for a joint: BPC-157 has rodent data and no toxicity signal; PPS has human data, veterinary approval and a real toxicity signal. Which is preferable depends entirely on whether you value characterised risk over uncharacterised risk. For bone marrow oedema lesions specifically, PPS is one of very few agents with a plausible mechanism - the fibrinolytic improvement in subchondral perfusion - and that is the niche where it is most interesting.
Rough cost
$40–$400/month. Generic oral pentosan is at the low end; branded Elmiron and injectable presentations obtained through special access or veterinary channels are far higher. Order-of-magnitude estimate, not price-checked in the preparation of this entry.
Genuinely uncertain
- Tissue half-life in cartilage and bladder wall, which is the therapeutically relevant number, has not been well quantified. The five-hour plasma figure understates residence considerably.
- Volume of distribution and protein binding are not stated in accessible label material.
- The mechanism of the pigmentary maculopathy is unknown, as is why it can progress after the drug is stopped.
- The 3 mg/kg weekly intramuscular joint regimen quoted in community protocols is not corroborated in the human trial record.
- Human osteoarthritis efficacy remains unsettled - the MaRVeL trial is a published protocol, not a published result.
- The interstitial cystitis glycosaminoglycan-replenishment model is a hypothesis rather than a demonstrated mechanism, and the clinical effect size in that indication is modest.
- Cost figures are estimates and were not price-verified in this session.
Papers
- Pigmentary Maculopathy Associated with Chronic Exposure to Pentosan Polysulfate Sodium Pearce WA, Chen R, Jain N, Ophthalmology, 2018 · PMID 29801663
The paper that identified the maculopathy. If you read one thing about this drug, read this rather than an efficacy trial.
- Efficacy and safety of pentosan polysulfate sodium in people with symptomatic knee osteoarthritis and dyslipidaemia: protocol of the MaRVeL trial Siddiq MAB et al., BMJ Open, 2024 · PMID 38777590
A current, properly designed human osteoarthritis trial. Useful for seeing what the real clinical question looks like as opposed to the veterinary extrapolation most people are relying on.
- Effects of pentosan polysulfate sodium on synovial fluid biomarkers in moderate to severe knee osteoarthritis Skerrett DL et al., Arthritis Research & Therapy, 2026 · PMID 41588475
Recent mechanistic human data on whether the cartilage-protective claims show up in synovial fluid.