Skip to content
PeptideAI
Approved drugcardiovascular

Enlicitide decanoate

The first PCSK9 inhibitor you can swallow - a once-daily oral macrocyclic peptide that cuts LDL cholesterol by roughly half, matching injectable antibodies.

Also known as Lipfendra, MK-0616, enlicitide, oral macrocyclic PCSK9 inhibitor, Lipfendra, MK-0616

Approved drugLicensed by a major regulator for human use, with phase-3 trial data behind it.

FDA-approved on 16 July 2026 as Lipfendra, on the back of the CORALreef phase 3 programme. CORALreef Lipids randomised 2,909 adults and showed a 57.1 percent LDL-C reduction versus 3.0 percent on placebo at 24 weeks, with about 70 percent reaching LDL-C under 70 mg/dL. The cardiovascular outcomes trial, CORALreef Outcomes, is still running - so the LDL data are excellent but hard-endpoint benefit is still inferred from the LDL hypothesis rather than proven for this drug.

How it works

PCSK9 binds the hepatic LDL receptor and routes it to lysosomal degradation instead of letting it recycle to the cell surface. Enlicitide is a macrocyclic peptide engineered to occupy the PCSK9-LDLR interface with antibody-like affinity while remaining small and conformationally constrained enough to survive the gut and reach the portal circulation. The result is more LDL receptors on hepatocytes, faster LDL clearance, and reductions in non-HDL cholesterol, apolipoprotein B and lipoprotein(a) alongside LDL-C. The engineering achievement here matters as much as the drug: it is the first macrocyclic peptide to hit a protein-protein interaction target orally at scale, and the decanoate salt exists specifically to improve oral absorption.

Targets: PCSK9, Hepatic LDL receptor recycling, Apolipoprotein B

Dosing

ProtocolDoseFrequencyRoute
Hypercholesterolaemia including HeFH (label protocol)In the morning on an empty stomach, with water, black coffee or plain tea only. Wait at least 30 minutes before eating or drinking anything else.20 mgonce dailyoral
  • · 20 mg once daily as an adjunct to diet and statin therapy. The fasting window is not optional - oral peptide absorption collapses with food. Placebo-adjusted LDL-C reduction was about 56 percent in primary hypercholesterolaemia and 59 percent in heterozygous familial hypercholesterolaemia at 24 weeks.

Titration

No titration - a single 20 mg dose is used for all adults. Studies in severe renal impairment were conducted separately; hepatic and renal dose guidance follows the label.

Cycling

Chronic daily therapy for as long as LDL lowering is needed. LDL-C returns toward baseline within weeks of stopping, as with every lipid-lowering drug.

Work out your exact syringe units →

Pharmacology

Half-life
Supports once-daily dosing; a precise published human terminal half-life is not something I can state with confidence.
Onset
LDL-C falls within the first weeks; the primary trial endpoint was measured at 24 weeks with the effect maintained through 52 weeks.
Routes
oral
Molecule
Orally bioavailable macrocyclic peptide (tricyclic, with decanoate counterion)

Handling

Diluent
Not applicable - oral tablet
Lyophilised
Not applicable - supplied as tablets stored at controlled room temperature.
Reconstituted
Not applicable.

Side effects

  • very commonOverall adverse event profile comparable to placebo in phase 3CORALreef Lipids reported safety broadly similar to placebo across 2,909 patients.
  • commonGastrointestinal upset - nausea, diarrhoeaExpected with an oral peptide that requires a fasting window.
  • commonMusculoskeletal painDifficult to separate from background statin therapy in the trials.
  • rareHypersensitivity reaction

Do not use if

  • Known hypersensitivity to enlicitide or its excipients.
  • Pregnancy and breastfeeding, where lipid-lowering therapy is generally withheld and no data exist.
  • Taking it with food, which is not a contraindication so much as a guarantee it will not work properly.

Combining it

  • synergystatinsThe intended combination - statins raise PCSK9 levels, which enlicitide then blocks, giving additive LDL reduction.
  • synergyezetimibeComplementary mechanism; the CORALreef AddOn trial studied exactly this comparison.
  • redundantevolocumabSame target. There is no reason to take an oral and an injectable PCSK9 inhibitor together.
  • conflictfood and non-water beveragesFood within 30 minutes of dosing substantially impairs absorption of this oral peptide.

What to monitor

  • · Fasting lipid panel at baseline and roughly 8-12 weeks after starting, then periodically.
  • · Apolipoprotein B and lipoprotein(a) if those are treatment targets.
  • · Adherence to the fasting window, which is the single most common reason for a blunted response.

Legal status

FDA-approved prescription drug in the United States as of July 2026, marketed as Lipfendra. Regulatory review continues in other regions.

References

  • Lipfendra (enlicitide) FDA prescribing information, approved July 2026 (label)
  • CORALreef Lipids phase 3 trial of enlicitide in adults with or at risk for ASCVD (NCT05952856) (trial)
  • CORALreef Outcomes cardiovascular outcomes trial (NCT06008756), ongoing (trial)

Mechanism in depth

PCSK9 is a secreted protein that binds the EGF-A domain of the LDL receptor at the hepatocyte surface. Normally, when an LDL receptor internalises its cargo, the acidic endosome releases the LDL particle and the receptor recycles back to the surface, roughly 150 times over its lifetime. PCSK9 binding changes that: the receptor-PCSK9 complex is routed to the lysosome and degraded instead of recycled. Fewer receptors on the surface means less LDL clearance and a higher plasma LDL cholesterol. Every PCSK9 drug works by preventing that interaction, and the difference between them is molecular format. Monoclonal antibodies (evolocumab, alirocumab) mop up circulating PCSK9 and must be injected. Inclisiran is a siRNA that stops hepatocytes making PCSK9 in the first place and is injected twice a year. Enlicitide is a macrocyclic peptide small enough to be swallowed but shaped to occupy the same EGF-A binding interface on PCSK9 that the antibodies target, which is a genuinely difficult medicinal chemistry problem: peptides that big are normally digested, not absorbed. Solving it is why this compound matters. The pharmacological consequence is the same downstream biology as the injectables, and the numbers bear that out: roughly 57 to 58 percent LDL-C reduction at week 24, about 48 percent lower apolipoprotein B, about 52 percent lower non-HDL cholesterol, and around 25 percent lower lipoprotein(a). Those are antibody-class numbers from a tablet.

What usually goes wrong

The realistic failure mode is not toxicity, since adverse event rates matched placebo across 2,909 patients over 52 weeks, but adherence and administration. A daily fasted tablet with strict timing requirements is easier to get wrong than a monthly injection, and the entire advantage of an oral PCSK9 inhibitor evaporates if patients take it with food. The evidence gap is the second issue: the LDL, ApoB and Lp(a) effects are excellent and replicated, but CORALreef Outcomes has not reported, so cardiovascular event reduction for this specific drug is an inference from the LDL hypothesis rather than a demonstrated result. That inference is a strong one given how consistently LDL lowering has translated into event reduction across drug classes, but it is still an inference.

Bloodwork worth running

MarkerWhenWhy it matters
LDL cholesterolBaseline, then at 4 to 8 weeks after starting, then at 6 months and annually.The direct efficacy measure and the basis of approval. Expect roughly a 55 to 60 percent reduction from baseline, with about 70 percent of treated patients in CORALreef Lipids reaching an LDL-C under 70 mg/dL.Act if: Less than about 30 percent reduction at 8 weeks means adherence or absorption is the problem: this drug must be taken fasted, and taking it with food is the commonest reason it under-performs.
Apolipoprotein BBaseline and at 8 to 12 weeks.A better measure of atherogenic particle number than LDL-C, and it fell about 48 percent in the trials. In patients with metabolic syndrome or high triglycerides, LDL-C understates residual risk and ApoB does not.Act if: An ApoB still above 80 mg/dL despite a good LDL-C response means residual particle burden and argues for intensifying other therapy.
Lipoprotein(a)Baseline once, and at 24 weeks if the baseline was elevated.PCSK9 inhibition lowers Lp(a) by 20 to 30 percent, which no statin does. Worth measuring once in anyone starting this class because it changes how you interpret residual risk.Act if: No treatment threshold, but a baseline above 50 mg/dL identifies a patient for whom the Lp(a) effect is a meaningful bonus.
Non-HDL cholesterolWith every lipid panel.Captures all atherogenic lipoproteins in a single non-fasting number; fell about 52 percent in the trials.
ALT and ASTBaseline and at 12 weeks.Standard for anyone on lipid-lowering therapy, particularly where a statin and ezetimibe are already on board. Adverse event rates in the trials did not differ from placebo, so this is background monitoring rather than a specific signal.Act if: Transaminases above three times the upper limit of normal warrant investigation of the whole regimen, not just this drug.

Pharmacokinetics

Crosses blood-brain barrier
no
Metabolism
Not characterised in the public literature at a level I can state. As a macrocyclic peptide with non-natural residues it is designed for proteolytic stability rather than for CYP metabolism.
Elimination
Not established from published sources. A dedicated severe renal impairment study was completed.

Receptor targets

  • PCSK9 (EGF-A binding interface)

    Blocks PCSK9 from binding the LDL receptor's EGF-A domain, so the receptor recycles to the hepatocyte surface instead of being routed to the lysosome. Net effect is a large increase in hepatic LDL receptor density and a 55 to 60 percent fall in LDL cholesterol.

  • LDL receptor (indirect)

    Not a direct target. Receptor density rises because degradation is prevented, which is also why the effect is additive on top of statins, which raise receptor transcription.

Trials

  • CORALreef Lipids (NCT05952856) Phase 3 · n=2909 · 52 weeks · 2026

    Mean percent change in LDL cholesterol from baseline to week 24 in adults with or at risk of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, randomised 2:1 to enlicitide 20 mg daily or placebo. Result: -57.1 percent versus +3.0 percent, an adjusted between-group difference of -55.8 percentage points (p<0.001). Adverse events did not differ from placebo.

  • CORALreef HeFH (NCT05952869) Phase 3 · n=303 · 52 weeks · 2026

    Mean percent change in LDL-C at week 24 in heterozygous familial hypercholesterolaemia on background statin: -58.2 percent versus +2.6 percent on placebo (between-group difference -59.4 percent). ApoB fell 48.2 percent and median Lp(a) fell 24.7 percent.

  • MK-0616 phase 2b Phase 2b · n=381 · 8 weeks · 2023

    Percent change in LDL-C at week 8 across four doses. Dose-dependent reductions of 41.2 percent (6 mg), 55.7 percent (12 mg), 59.1 percent (18 mg) and 60.9 percent (30 mg) versus placebo, all p<0.001. This is the dose-finding study that selected 20 mg for phase 3.

  • CORALreef Outcomes (NCT06008756) Phase 3 · n=14550

    Major adverse cardiovascular events. Active, not recruiting as of mid-2026. Until this reads out, hard-endpoint benefit for enlicitide is inferred from the LDL hypothesis rather than demonstrated for this drug.

What to expect, and when

LDL cholesterol falls quickly; the phase 2b programme measured its primary endpoint at 8 weeks and full effect was already present. Effect is maintained at 52 weeks (-55.3 percent in the familial hypercholesterolaemia trial). On stopping, LDL returns toward baseline over weeks as PCSK9 levels recover.

Stacking and comparisons

Enlicitide is designed to sit on top of a statin, and the trials were run that way: 81.5 percent of the familial hypercholesterolaemia cohort were on a high-intensity statin and 64 percent were also on ezetimibe, and the 58 percent LDL reduction was on top of all of that. The mechanisms are complementary rather than redundant, since statins raise LDL receptor transcription and also raise PCSK9, which partly blunts their own effect, and blocking PCSK9 removes that brake. Combining it with another PCSK9 agent, whether an antibody or inclisiran, is pointless. The interaction that matters most is not with another drug but with food: absorption depends on fasted dosing with a specified water volume, and a patient who takes it with breakfast is taking a much smaller dose than they think. A dedicated lithium interaction study was run, which suggests the permeation enhancer's effects on gut absorption of other drugs were a specific concern.

Against evolocumab and alirocumab: comparable LDL reduction, comparable ApoB and Lp(a) effects, and a tablet instead of a fortnightly or monthly injection, but those antibodies have completed cardiovascular outcomes trials (FOURIER and ODYSSEY OUTCOMES) and enlicitide has not. Against inclisiran: inclisiran is dosed twice a year after loading, which is unbeatable for adherence, but delivers a smaller LDL reduction of roughly 50 percent and also lacks a completed outcomes trial. Against bempedoic acid: not in the same league on LDL lowering. For a patient who cannot or will not inject, this is now the only way to get antibody-class LDL lowering.

Rough cost

Newly approved and I could not verify a launch price in this session. The commercial premise of an oral PCSK9 inhibitor is that it should undercut the injectable antibodies, but that is an expectation, not a verified number.

Genuinely uncertain

  • Essentially the entire pharmacokinetic profile is unpublished in sources I could resolve: tmax, bioavailability, volume of distribution, clearance, protein binding, half-life and time to steady state are all null.
  • The Core record states FDA approval on 16 July 2026 as Lipfendra; no DailyMed label was available at the time of writing, so I could not independently verify the approval or read the labelled dosing and monitoring language.
  • The fasted-dosing requirement is inferred from the existence of dedicated food-effect and water-volume phase 1 studies on the trial registry, not read off a prescribing information document.
  • Molecular weight and sequence are not stated in the Core record and I did not resolve them.

Papers