Skip to content
PeptideAI
Approved druglongevityenergycardiovascularrecovery

SS-31

A cardiolipin-binding tetrapeptide that concentrates in the inner mitochondrial membrane and restores cristae structure and ATP output — and, as of September 2025, the first FDA-approved drug of its kind.

Also known as Elamipretide, Szeto-Schiller peptide 31, Bendavia, D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, Forzinity, MTP-131, SS-31

Approved drugLicensed by a major regulator for human use, with phase-3 trial data behind it.

FDA accelerated approval in September 2025 for improving muscle strength in Barth syndrome at 30 kg and above — a genuinely approved drug with a label. But that approval is narrow and accelerated, meaning confirmatory evidence is still owed. The larger MMPOWER-3 trial in primary mitochondrial myopathy missed its primary endpoint, and there is no trial evidence at all for the general anti-aging use people buy it for.

How it works

SS-31 is an alternating aromatic-cationic tetrapeptide that crosses membranes independently of potential gradients and accumulates roughly a thousand-fold in the inner mitochondrial membrane. There it binds cardiolipin, the signature phospholipid of that membrane, and stabilises the interaction between cardiolipin and cytochrome c. The practical consequences are better-organised cristae, more efficient electron transport, higher ATP production per unit oxygen consumed, and less reactive oxygen species leaking from the chain. It is not an antioxidant in the scavenging sense — it reduces ROS generation upstream rather than mopping it up. Approval was granted in Barth syndrome, a genetic cardiolipin remodelling disorder, which is the cleanest possible proof-of-mechanism; results in the broader primary mitochondrial myopathy population were more equivocal.

Targets: Cardiolipin, Cytochrome c, Inner mitochondrial membrane cristae, Electron transport chain complexes I-IV

Dosing

ProtocolDoseFrequencyRoute
Approved label dosing (Barth syndrome)Same time each day, abdomen or outer thigh, rotating sites.40 mgonce dailysubcutaneous
Common off-label longevity protocolMorning.5 mg – 10 mgonce dailysubcutaneous
  • · 40 mg once daily for patients 30 kg and above; reduced to 20 mg daily in severe renal impairment (eGFR under 30 and not on dialysis).
  • · Grey-market protocols run far below the approved 40 mg dose, largely on cost grounds. There is no evidence that 5-10 mg reproduces the label effect — this is a community convention, not a validated dose.

Titration

No titration is required at label dose; the only formal adjustment is the renal-impairment reduction to 20 mg daily.

Cycling

In the approved indication it is continuous, indefinite therapy. Off-label users typically run 4-8 week blocks with breaks, which has no evidentiary basis but limits cost and cumulative injection-site damage.

Work out your exact syringe units →

Pharmacology

Half-life
Roughly 2-4 hours in plasma after subcutaneous dosing, but tissue mitochondrial retention far outlasts plasma levels, which is why once-daily dosing works.
Onset
In the Barth syndrome trials, meaningful muscle-strength change took months, not weeks. Subjective energy changes are sometimes reported inside two weeks off-label.
Routes
subcutaneous, intravenous
Molecule
Synthetic aromatic-cationic tetrapeptide
Sequence length
4 amino acids
Molecular weight
639.8 Da

Handling

Diluent
Bacteriostatic water
Typical mix
2 or 3 mL
Vial sizes
10, 50 mg
Lyophilised
Fridge or freezer long-term.
Reconstituted
Refrigerated, use within about 30 days. The commercial solution is refrigerated per its label.
Light sensitive
Yes — keep it out of the light

Mixing

The commercial product is a ready-to-use solution, not a powder. Research-grade lyophilised SS-31 reconstitutes normally; 50 mg in 2 mL gives 25 mg/mL if you are running label-level doses.

Side effects

  • very commonInjection-site reactions — redness, itching, indurationThe dominant adverse event in every trial; site rotation is not optional at daily dosing.
  • commonHeadache
  • commonNausea or diarrhoea
  • uncommonDizziness
  • rareHypersensitivity reactionStop and seek care for spreading rash, wheeze or facial swelling.

Do not use if

  • Known hypersensitivity to elamipretide or to benzyl alcohol in the commercial formulation.
  • Severe renal impairment requires dose reduction rather than avoidance — do not run the full 40 mg with eGFR under 30.

Combining it

  • synergynad-plusCommon pairing — one targets membrane structure, the other cofactor availability; no trial has tested the combination.
  • synergymots-cFrequently stacked as a structure-plus-signalling mitochondrial pair.

What to monitor

  • · Renal function before starting and periodically, because of the eGFR-based dose adjustment.
  • · Injection-site inspection at every dose.
  • · Functional endpoints — six-minute walk, grip strength, or whatever deficit you are actually trying to move.

Legal status

FDA-approved as Forzinity for Barth syndrome (accelerated approval, September 2025). All other use is off-label, and research-grade SS-31 is sold as a research chemical.

References

  • FORZINITY (elamipretide) US prescribing information, 2025 (label)
  • Reid Thompson et al., TAZPOWER trial of elamipretide in Barth syndrome (trial)
  • Karaa et al., MMPOWER-3 trial of elamipretide in primary mitochondrial myopathy (trial)
  • Szeto, review of cardiolipin-targeted peptides and mitochondrial protection (review)

Mechanism in depth

SS-31 works by being an unusual physical object rather than by binding a receptor. The alternating aromatic-cationic architecture — two cationic residues, two aromatic residues, arranged so that charge and hydrophobicity alternate — allows it to partition into lipid bilayers without needing a membrane potential to pull it in, which is what distinguishes it from triphenylphosphonium-tagged mitochondrial agents that depend on the potential gradient and therefore fail precisely in the depolarised mitochondria you most want to fix. Once inside it concentrates in the inner mitochondrial membrane, reportedly on the order of a thousand-fold over cytosolic concentration, where it associates with cardiolipin, the four-tailed phospholipid unique to that membrane. The 2020 Journal of Biological Chemistry work from Mitchell and colleagues refined the mechanism significantly: SS-31 partitions into the interfacial region of the bilayer with affinity that tracks membrane surface charge, and it modulates surface electrostatics rather than acting as a simple stoichiometric cardiolipin ligand. The functional consequences follow from that. Cardiolipin normally holds cytochrome c in place and maintains cristae curvature; when cardiolipin is abnormal or peroxidised, cytochrome c gains peroxidase activity, cristae flatten, and electron transport becomes leaky. SS-31 stabilises the cardiolipin-cytochrome c interaction, restores cristae organisation, and increases ATP produced per unit oxygen consumed. Separately, work in aged cardiomyocytes showed SS-31 associates with ANT1 and the ATP synthasome and reduces the elevated proton leak that characterises the aged heart. Critically, SS-31 is not a free-radical scavenger — it reduces reactive oxygen species by making the chain leak less, upstream, rather than by mopping up what has already leaked. That distinction matters because it means the effect should be largest exactly where electron transport is most dysfunctional, which is why Barth syndrome, a genetic disorder of cardiolipin remodelling, was the indication that finally worked when the broader mitochondrial myopathy population did not.

What usually goes wrong

The single biggest error is assuming the approval means the drug works for what you want. It is approved for one thing — improving muscle strength in Barth syndrome, a genetic cardiolipin remodelling disorder, at 30 kg and above — under accelerated approval on an intermediate endpoint, and its own randomised primary endpoints in that trial were not met. In the much larger population of people with genuine primary mitochondrial myopathy, the phase 3 failed. There is no trial in healthy ageing that has reported efficacy; the only registered study in that population is a 30-person safety trial that is still recruiting. The second error is the dose. Grey-market longevity protocols run 5-10 mg daily against an approved dose of 40 mg daily, purely because 40 mg of research peptide is expensive. Nothing suggests 5 mg reproduces the label effect, and the label effect itself took months to years to appear. If you are going to run a quarter of the dose for a twelfth of the duration you should be honest that you are running a placebo with a good story. The third is renal: people with reduced eGFR who never check it get 125% higher parent exposure and 640% higher M2 metabolite exposure, and the label response to that is to halve the dose. The fourth is injection sites — 100% of trial patients had local reactions, this is daily dosing, and people who do not rotate rigorously end up with induration that ends the protocol. The fifth is the eosinophilia at around 90 days, which is documented and transient, and which people either panic about or ignore when it does not resolve.

Bloodwork worth running

MarkerWhenWhy it matters
Serum creatinine and eGFRBefore the first dose, then every three to six months on continuous use, and again after any illness that could have hit the kidneys.This is the one non-negotiable test. Elimination is essentially entirely renal, exposure rises 125% in severe renal impairment, and the inactive metabolites accumulate up to 640%. The approved label carries a formal dose reduction on this basis.Act if: eGFR below 30 mL/min/1.73m2 and not on dialysis — halve the dose (the label reduction is from 40 mg to 20 mg daily). eGFR falling by more than 25% from your own baseline — stop and investigate before continuing.
Absolute eosinophil count (part of a CBC with differential)Baseline, at approximately 90 days, and again at 6 and 12 months.This is the specific, non-obvious one. The FORZINITY label documents transient eosinophilia on treatment, peaking at around 90 days and resolving over the following 6-12 months of continued exposure. If you do not know this is expected, a rising eosinophil count at three months looks like a drug allergy and gets the compound stopped unnecessarily. Equally, if it does not resolve, that is a genuine signal.Act if: A transient rise peaking around day 90 is described in the label. An eosinophil count that is still climbing past 6 months, or that comes with rash, fever, or any organ symptom, is a stop-and-investigate event — think drug reaction with eosinophilia, not expected pharmacology.
Monolysocardiolipin to cardiolipin ratio (MLCL/CL)Baseline and at 6-12 months, if you can access it. Realistically this is a specialist metabolic laboratory assay, not something a normal outpatient panel includes.The actual mechanistic biomarker. In the TAZPOWER extension, MLCL/CL ratios improved on elamipretide and the change correlated with clinical outcomes. It is the only marker that tells you the drug is doing its molecular job rather than that you feel better.Act if: No consumer-usable threshold. Interpret with the laboratory that ran it. Do not chase this marker if you cannot get it properly run — an unvalidated result is worse than none.
Six-minute walk distance and handheld dynamometry knee extensor strengthBaseline, 12 weeks, 24 weeks, then twice yearly. Use the same tester and the same device.Not bloodwork, but these are the endpoints the drug was actually approved on, and they are the only endpoints where a real effect has been demonstrated. The accelerated approval rests on knee extensor strength by handheld dynamometry, not on how you feel.Act if: In the 168-week extension the cumulative 6MWT gain was 96.1 m and the median knee extensor gain was 63 newtons from a 124 newton baseline — over more than three years. If you are expecting a change in six weeks you have the timescale wrong. No measurable functional change at 12 months is a reason to stop.
Injection-site inspection (documented, not a lab test)Every single dose. Photograph anything that persists more than 48 hours.Injection-site reactions occurred in 100% of patients on elamipretide in the TAZPOWER trial versus 67% on placebo. At daily dosing for years, cumulative site damage is the dominant practical problem with the drug.Act if: Spreading erythema, urticaria beyond the injection site, wheeze or facial swelling — stop and seek care. Persistent induration at a site means retire that site from the rotation.

Pharmacokinetics

Tmax
0.75 h
Bioavailability
92%
Volume of distribution
35 L
Protein binding
39%
Time to steady state
2 days
Metabolism
Sequential C-terminal degradation to two metabolites designated M1 and M2, neither of which is pharmacologically active. There is no meaningful cytochrome P450 involvement, which is why the label carries essentially no metabolic drug-interaction warnings.
Elimination
Renal excretion of parent drug and metabolites; approximately complete urinary recovery within 48 hours in normal renal function.

Receptor targets

  • Cardiolipin in the inner mitochondrial membraneBinding is to cardiolipin-containing bilayers rather than to a discrete site; affinity tracks membrane surface charge. Published work characterises partition behaviour rather than a single Kd, and analogue comparisons show large differences in equilibrium binding across the SS-peptide series.

    Stabilises cardiolipin-cytochrome c association, preserves cristae curvature, improves electron transport chain efficiency and reduces electron leak. This is the primary and defining interaction.

  • Cytochrome cIndirect — via the cardiolipin-cytochrome c complex rather than direct peptide-protein binding.

    Prevents cardiolipin-induced peroxidase activity of cytochrome c, which is a key step in mitochondrial oxidative damage and in apoptosis initiation.

  • Adenine nucleotide translocase 1 (ANT1) and the ATP synthasomeAssociation demonstrated; no affinity constant published.

    Reduces the elevated mitochondrial proton leak characteristic of aged cardiomyocytes, which is the most directly ageing-relevant finding for the compound.

  • Inner mitochondrial membrane electrostatic surfacePartitioning into the interfacial region with affinity proportional to surface charge.

    Modulation of membrane surface potential, which the 2020 JBC work argues is a core component of the mechanism rather than a side effect of cardiolipin binding.

Trials

  • TAZPOWER (NCT03098797) — elamipretide in Barth syndrome Phase 2/3 · n=12 · 28 weeks · 2021

    Six-minute walk test distance and Barth Syndrome Symptom Assessment Total Fatigue Score in the randomised double-blind crossover phase. Neither primary endpoint showed superiority of elamipretide over placebo. The accelerated approval rests instead on knee extensor muscle strength by handheld dynamometry, an intermediate clinical endpoint, observed in the open-label extension.

  • TAZPOWER 168-week open-label extension Open-label extension · n=10 · 168 weeks · 2024

    Long-term efficacy and safety at 40 mg subcutaneously daily. Cumulative six-minute walk improvement of 96.1 m at week 168 (p = 0.003), fatigue scores below baseline at all timepoints, improving 3D left ventricular volumes, and improved MLCL/CL cardiolipin ratios correlating with clinical outcome. Eight of ten participants completed week 168.

  • MMPOWER-3 (NCT03323749) — elamipretide in primary mitochondrial myopathy Phase 3 · n=218 · 24 weeks · 2023

    Six-minute walk test distance and Primary Mitochondrial Myopathy Symptom Assessment total fatigue score. The trial did not meet its primary endpoints in the overall genotypically diverse population — this is the largest and most rigorous test elamipretide has faced and it failed it.

  • MMPOWER (NCT02367014) — randomised dose-escalation in primary mitochondrial myopathy Phase 1/2 · n=36 · 1 weeks · 2018

    Change in six-minute walk distance after 5 days of intravenous elamipretide at 0.01, 0.1 and 0.25 mg/kg/h. The highest dose group walked 64.5 m further versus 20.4 m for placebo (p = 0.053); the adjusted analysis gave 51.2 m versus 3.0 m (p = 0.0297).

  • MMPOWER-2 (NCT02805790) — randomised crossover in primary mitochondrial myopathy Phase 2 · n=30 · 4 weeks · 2020

    Six-minute walk test distance by visit. Participants reported reduced fatigue on elamipretide; the walk-distance result did not carry through to the phase 3.

  • PROGRESS-HF (NCT02914665) — elamipretide in hospitalised heart failure Phase 2 · n=308 · 2 weeks · 2019

    Change in NT-proBNP between baseline and day 8 or early discharge.

  • ReCLAIM-2 (NCT03891875) — elamipretide in dry age-related macular degeneration Phase 2 · n=176 · 48 weeks · 2023

    Change in best-corrected visual acuity and change in geographic atrophy area.

  • ReNEW (NCT06373731) — subcutaneous elamipretide in dry age-related macular degeneration Phase 3 · n=313 · 48 weeks · 2026

    Rate of change of photoreceptor loss at week 48. Active, not recruiting as of this writing.

  • Study of healthy aging and physical function with elamipretide (NCT07275424) Phase 2 · n=30 · 2026

    Safety and tolerability of subcutaneous elamipretide injections in healthy ageing — adverse events and completion rates. Recruiting as of this writing. This is the first registered trial that actually addresses the population buying SS-31 off-label, and it is a safety study, not an efficacy study.

What to expect, and when

Hours: peak plasma concentration at 30-60 minutes, steady state within about two days given the short half-life and minimal accumulation. That tells you nothing about effect, because tissue mitochondrial retention outlasts plasma exposure by a wide margin — this is why once-daily dosing works for a drug with a 2-4 hour plasma half-life. Weeks one to four: injection-site reactions establish themselves; this is what you will actually notice. Some off-label users report subjective energy change inside two weeks, which is not supported by anything in the trial data. Around day 90: transient eosinophilia peaks. Months three to six: this is the earliest window in which the trials saw functional muscle change, and even then it was modest. Week 168 in the Barth extension: 96.1 m cumulative six-minute walk gain and 63 newtons of knee extensor strength. That is the real timescale of this drug — years, not weeks. Anyone reporting a dramatic two-week transformation is reporting something other than elamipretide pharmacology.

Stacking and comparisons

SS-31 plus NAD+ or an oral NAD+ precursor is the most common longevity stack and the most mechanistically sensible one in this class: SS-31 fixes the machine, NAD+ supplies the currency it runs on, and they do not overlap at any node. No trial has tested the combination. SS-31 plus MOTS-c is the structure-plus-signalling pair, equally coherent and equally untested. The interaction that actually matters is not with another peptide at all — it is with anything that loads the kidney, because elimination is essentially 100% renal. If you are running SS-31 alongside high-dose NSAIDs, a contrast study, dehydration from a hard cut, or any nephrotoxic agent, your exposure goes up and the inactive metabolites go up much more steeply than the parent. Check renal function rather than assuming. There is no CYP-mediated interaction surface, so oral medications are broadly unaffected. Note also that the commercial formulation contains benzyl alcohol as preservative — relevant if you are stacking multiple preserved injectables and accumulating benzyl alcohol exposure, and an absolute problem in neonates.

SS-31 is the only compound in this entire class with an FDA approval, a published label, real human pharmacokinetics and phase 3 data. That makes it the strongest member of the class by a wide margin and it is worth stating plainly. But the comparison that matters is internal: within SS-31's own evidence base, the strong result is a 12-person trial in a rare genetic cardiolipin disorder, and the weak result is a 218-person phase 3 in the broader mitochondrial disease population that failed. Against MOTS-c and humanin, there is no contest on evidence quality. Against NAD+ and its precursors: NAD+ has more human trials but almost all of them show you can raise the biomarker without moving a clinical endpoint, whereas SS-31 has moved clinical endpoints in one narrow population. Against coenzyme Q10 and other mitochondrial supplements: SS-31 has an actual defined molecular mechanism, membrane pharmacology and a regulatory dossier, which CoQ10 supplementation does not. Against doing nothing, for a healthy person seeking anti-ageing benefit: unknown, and that is the honest answer. The registered healthy-ageing trial is a safety study that has not reported.

Rough cost

$150–$900/month. Not verified against live pricing this session, and the spread here is enormous and structural. Research-grade lyophilised SS-31 run at community doses of 5-10 mg daily lands at the low end. Running the actual approved 40 mg daily dose means 1.2 g per month, which puts research-grade cost near the top of this range or above it. The commercial product FORZINITY is an orphan drug priced accordingly — its list price is far outside this range and is not what grey-market users pay. Any figure you see quoted should be checked against whether it assumes label dose or community dose, because they differ eightfold.

Genuinely uncertain

  • Plasma half-life: the Core figure of 2-4 hours is consistent with the label's Tmax and near-complete 48-hour urinary recovery, but I did not resolve an explicitly published terminal half-life number in this session.
  • Volume of distribution is given in the label as approximately 0.5 L/kg; the 35 L figure here is that value scaled to a 70 kg adult and is a derived number, not a directly reported one.
  • Whether SS-31 crosses the blood-brain barrier is not stated in the label and I could not resolve it. Given the compound's use in retinal and neurological indications by local or systemic routes, this is a real open question.
  • Time to steady state is inferred from short half-life plus the label's statement of minimal accumulation, not directly reported as a number.
  • There is no efficacy evidence at all for the 5-10 mg community dose. Whether it does anything is genuinely unknown.
  • The thousand-fold inner-membrane accumulation figure is widely cited from the older Szeto laboratory work; I did not resolve the primary source for that specific number in this session, so treat the magnitude as approximate.
  • No published trial has tested SS-31 in healthy ageing adults for efficacy. NCT07275424 is a safety study and had not reported at the time of writing.
  • Cost figures are estimates and were not verified against live vendor or pharmacy pricing.
  • Whether the eosinophilia represents a benign pharmacodynamic effect or a low-grade immune response with long-term implications is not resolved in the label.
  • Trial identities, phases and enrolment numbers were verified against ClinicalTrials.gov and the published abstracts. Some durationWeeks values (MMPOWER-3 at 24 weeks, MMPOWER-2 at 4 weeks, PROGRESS-HF at 2 weeks, ReCLAIM-2 at 48 weeks) are the commonly reported figures rather than values I resolved directly in this session — TAZPOWER's 28-week randomised phase, its 168-week extension and ReNEW's week-48 endpoint were confirmed.

Papers